

JNANPITH AWARD

The Jnanpith Award is an Indian literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith to an author for their "outstanding contribution towards literature". Instituted in 1961, the award is bestowed only on Indian writers writing in Indian languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India and English, with no posthumous conferral.

The Bharatiya Jnanpith, a research and cultural institute founded in 1944 by industrialist Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain, conceived an idea in May 1961 to start a scheme "commanding national prestige and of international standard" to "select the best book out of the publications in Indian languages".

The first recipient of the award was the Malayalam writer G. Sankara Kurup who received the award in 1965 for his collection of poems, Odakkuzhal (The Bamboo Flute), published in 1950.

In 1976, Bengali novelist Ashapoorna Devi became the first woman to win the award and was honoured for the 1965 novel Pratham Pratisruti (The First Promise), the first in a trilogy.

Year	Recipient(s)	Language(s)
1965	G. Sankara Kurup	Malayalam
(1st)		
1966	Tarasankar Bandyopadhyay	Bengali
(2nd)		
1967	Umashankar Joshi	Gujarati
(3rd)		
1967	Kuppali Venkatappa Puttappa 'Kuvempu'	Kannada
(3rd)		



1968	Sumitranandan Pant	Hindi
(4th)		
1969	Firaq Gorakhpuri	Urdu
(5th)		
1970	Viswanatha Satyanarayana	Telugu
(6th)		
1971	Bishnu Dey	Bengali
(7th)		
1972	Ramdhari Singh 'Dinkar'	Hindi
(8th)		
1973	D. R. Bendre	Kannada
(9th)		
1973	Gopinath Mohanty	Odia
(9th)		
1974	Vishnu Sakharam Khandekar	Marathi
(10th)		
1975	Akilan	Tamil
(11th)		
1976	Ashapoorna Devi	Bengali
(12th)		
1977	K. Shivaram Karanth	Kannada
(13th)		
1978	Sachchidananda Vatsyayan	Hindi
(14th)		
1979	Birendra Kumar Bhattacharya	Assamese



(15th)		
1980 (16th)	S. K. Pottekkatt	Malayalam
1981 (17th)	Amrita Pritam	Punjabi
1982 (18th)	Mahadevi Varma	Hindi
1983 (19th)	Masti Venkatesha Iyengar	Kannada
1984 (20th)	Thakazhi Sivasankara Pillai	Malayalam
1985 (21st)	Pannalal Patel	Gujarati
1986 (22nd)	Sachidananda Routray	Odia
1987 (23rd)	Vishnu Vaman Shirwadkar 'Kusumagraj'	Marathi
1988 (24th)	C. Narayana Reddy	Telugu
1989 (25th)	Qurratulain Hyder	Urdu
1990 (26th)	Vinayaka Krishna Gokak	Kannada
1991 (27th)	Subhash Mukhopadhyay	Bengali



1992	Naresh Mehta	Hindi
(28th)		
1993	Sitakant Mahapatra	Odia
(29th)		
1994	U. R. Ananthamurthy	Kannada
(30th)		
1995	M. T. Vasudevan Nair	Malayalam
(31st)		
1996	Mahasweta Devi	Bengali
(32nd)		
1997	Ali Sardar Jafri	Urdu
(33rd)		
1998	Girish Karnad	Kannada
(34th)		
1999	Nirmal Verma	Hindi
(35th)		
1999	Gurdial Singh	Punjabi
(35th)		
2000	Mamoni Raisom Goswami	Assamese
(36th)		
2001	Rajendra Shah	Gujarati
(37th)		
2002	Jayakanthan	Tamil
(38th)		
2003	Vinda Karandikar	Marathi



(39th)		
2004	Rehman Rahi	Kashmiri
(40th)		
2005	Kunwar Narayan	Hindi
(41st)		
2006	Ravindra Kelekar	Konkani
(42nd)		
2006	Satya Vrat Shastri	Sanskrit
(42nd)		
2007	O. N. V. Kurup	Malayalam
(43rd)		
2008	Akhlaq Mohammed Khan 'Shahryar'	Urdu
(44th)		
2009	Amarkant	Hindi
(45th)		
2009	Sri Lal Sukla	Hindi
(45th)		
2010	Chandrashekhara Kambara	Kannada
(46th)		
2011	Pratibha Ray	Odia
(47th)		
2012	Ravuri Bharadhwaja	Telugu
(48th)		
2013	Kedarnath Singh	Hindi
(49th)		



2014	Bhalchandra Nemade	Marathi
(50th)		
2015 (51st)	Raghuveer Chaudhari	Gujarati
2016 (52nd)	Shankha Ghosh	Bengali
2017 (53rd)	Krishna Sobti	Hindi
2018 (54th)	Amitav Ghosh	English

Join Us on FB

For English – Examsdaily For Tamil – Examsdaily Tamil



For Telegram Channel Click Here