

List of Freedom Fighters In Tamilnadu

S.No	Names	Periods	Details	Movement
1	Subramania Bharati	1882-1921	He his one of the well known tamil poet who wrote poem's regarding patriotism, caste and religious view. He fought for caste system in Tamilnadu	Indian independence movement against British
2	Tiruppur Kumaran	1904-1932	He started "Desa Bandhu Youth Association" by grouping the youths and young persons from Tamilnadu to struggle against the British government to get freedom	Indian independence movement against British
3	veera mangai velunachiyar	1730-1796		First queen to fight against the British colonial power in India.
4	vanchinathan	1886-1911	On June 17, 1911, Vanchi assassinated Ashe, the district collector of Tirunelveli, who was also known as Collector Dorai	Freedom Fighter who sought arms against British
5	veerapandiya kattabomman	1760-1799		one of the earliest to oppose the British rule
6	vo chidambaram pillai	1872-1936	He was the first man in Tamilnadu who started shipping trade between Tuticorin and Coloumbo	Freedom Fighter
7	Dheeran chinnamalai	1756-1805		Freedom Fighter against British
8	subramaniya siva	1884-1925		Freedom Fighter
9	maruthu pandiyar	1748-1801		They are the first to Proclamation of Independence



10	K. Kamaraj	1903-1975	He is simple man fought for our freedom so he was well known as "Gandhi of Tamilnadu"	He established many plans for education such as "Sathunavu thittam" which influenced many poor students to gain education
11	Rettamalai Srinivasan	1860-1945	He founded a Tamil newspaper called Paraiyan in October 1893	
12	E.V.Ramasa my	1870-1973	He was the first person in Tamilnadu who speak about Women rights	He was the person who started Self-Respect Movement or the Dravidian Movement
13	Lakshmi Sehgal	1914-2012	Sahgal is commonly referred to in India as "Captain Lakshmi", a reference to her rank when taken prisoner in Burma during the Second World War.	she organised relief camps and medical aid in Calcutta for refugees who streamed into India from Bangladesh
14	Janaky Athi Nahappan	1925-2014	She was determined to join the women's wing, the Rani of Jhansi Regiment of the Indian National Army	She was among the first women to join the Indian National Army organised during the Japanese occupation of Malaya to fight for Indian independence with the Japanese
15	Sir S. Subramania Iyer	1842-1924		
16	G. Subramania Iyer	1855-1916	In 1898, Subramania Iyer relinquished his claims over 'The Hindu' and concentrated his energies on Swadesamitran, the Tamil language newspaper which he had started in 1882	



1.7	C:D. C	1064 1046	D C C: ' I	
17	Sir P. S.	1864-1946	P. S. Sivaswami Iyer	
	Sivaswami		(1919). Martial law	
	Iyer		administration in the	
			Panjab. As described by	
			the official witnesses.	
10	Champakara	1891-1934	Pillai was the foreign	Indian Independence
	man Pillai		minister of	movement, Indo-
			the Provisional	German Conspiracy
			Government of India set	
			up	
			in Kabul, Afghanistan on	
			1 December 1915,	
			with Raja Mahendra	
			Pratapas President	
			and Maulana	
			Barkatullah as Prime	
			Minister. However, the	
			defeat of the Germans in	
			the war shattered the	
			hopes of the	
			revolutionaries, and the	
			British forced them out of	
			Afghanistan in 1919.	
19	Sathyamurth	1887-1943	Satyamurti was the	
1)	•	1007-1743	President of the	
	У		provincial wing of	
			_	
			the Swaraj Party from	
			1930 to 1934 and the	
			Tamil Nadu Congress	
			Committee from 1936 to	
			1939. He was a member	
			of the Imperial	
			Legislative Council from	
			1934 to 1940	
			and Mayor of Madras fro	
			m 1939 to 1943.	