

Chief Justice of High Court (Indian Administration)

Chief Justice of High Court (Indian Administration)

The Madras High Court is the high court of the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The court is one of the three High Courts in India established in the three Presidency Towns of Bombay, Calcutta and Madras by Letters patent granted by Her Majesty Queen Victoria, bearing date 26 June 1862.

It consists of 74 judges and a chief justice who are in charge of the general policy adopted in the administration of justice. In September 2016, the centre government forwarded names of 15 new judges to the President for his signature on their warrants of appointment. Of the 15, nine are from among lawyers and six from the subordinate judiciary. The current Chief justice Of Madras High Court is Indira Banerjee. She was sworn in on 5 April 2017.

List of Chief Justices of High Court

Sl no	Name of the Chief Justice	Period
1	P. V. Rajamannar	1948-1961
2	S. Ramachandra Iyer	1961-1964
3	Palagani Chandra Reddy	1964-1966
4	M. Anantanarayanan	1966-1969
5	Kuppuswami Naidu Veeraswami	1969-1976
6	Palapatti Sadaya Goundar Kailasam	1976-1977
7	Padmanabhapillay Govindan Nair	1977-1978
8	Tayi Ramaprasada Rao	1978-1979
9	Muhammad Kassim Muhammad Ismail	1979-1982
10	Krishna Ballabh Narayan Singh	1982-1984
11	Madhukar Narhar Chandurkar	1984-1989
12	Adarsh Sein Anand	1989-1992
13	Kanta Kumari Bhatnagar	1992-1993
14	Kudarikoti Annadanayya Swamy	1993-1997



Chief Justice of High Court (Indian Administration)

15	Manmohan Singh Liberhan	1997-1999
16	Ashok Chhotelal Agarwal	1999
17	K. G. Balakrishnan	1999-2000
18	Nagendra Kumar Jain	2000-2001
19	B. Subhashan Reddy	2001-2004
20	Markandey Katju	2004-2005
21	Ajit Prakash Shah	2005-2008
22	Asok Kumar Ganguly	2008-2009
23	Hemant Laxman Gokhale	2009-2010
24	M Y Iqbal	2010-2013
25	Rajesh Kumar Agrawal	2013
26	Satish K Agnihotri	2014
27	Sanjay Kishan Kaul	2014-2017
28	Huluvadi G. Ramesh	2017
29	Indira Banerjee	5 April 2017 -