List of UPSC Chairman

List of UPSC Chairman

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is India's central recruiting agency. It is responsible for appointments to and examinations for All India services and group A & group B of Central services. The agency's charter is granted by Part XIV of the Constitution of India, titled as Services Under the Union and the States. The commission is headquartered at Dholpur House, in New Delhi and functions through its own secretariat. Vinay Mittal is its current Chairman of UPSC. Established on 1 October 1926 as Public Service Commission, it was later reconstituted as Federal Public Service Commission by the Government of India Act, 1935; only to be renamed as today's Union Public Service Commission after the independence.

S.No	Name	Period
1	Sir Ross Barker	1926-1932
2	Sir David Petrie	1932-1936
3	Sir Eyre Gorden	1937-1942
4	Sir F. W. Robertson	1942-1947
5	H. K. Kripalani	1947-1949
6	R. N. Banerjee	1949-1955
7	N. Govindarajan	1955-1955
8	V. S. Hejmadi	1955-1961
9	B. N. Jha	1961-1967
10	K. R. Damle	1967-1971
11	R.C.S. Sarkar	1971-1973
12	A. R. Kidwai	1973-1979
13	M. L. Shahare	1979-1985
14	H. K. L. Capoor	1985-1990
15	J. P. Gupta	1990-1992
16	R. M. Bathew (Kharbuli)	1992-1996
17	S. J. S. Chhatwal	1996
18	J. M. Qureshi	1996-1998
19	Lt. Gen. Surinder Nath	1998-2002
20	P. C. Hota	2002-2003
21	Mata Prasad	2003-2005
22	S. R. Hashim	2005-2006
23	D. P. Agrawal	2008-2014
24	Rajni Razdan	2014
25	Deepak Gupta	2014-2016
26	Alka Sirohi	2016-2017
27	David R. Syiemlieh	2017-2018
28	Vinay Mittal	2018 – Till Date