

Five Year Plans

Planning Commission (1951-2014) was set up on March 15, 1950.

The Five year plan system was borrowed from Russia by Former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.

From Jan 1, 2015 the planning commission was replaced by Niti Aayog.

I – Five Year Plan – 1951-1956

II- Five Year Plan – 1956-1961

III- Five Year Plan - 1961-1966

Annual Plans – 1966-1969

IV- Five Year Plan- 1969-1974

V- Five Year Plan – 1974-1979

Rolling Plan – 1979-1980

VI- Five Year Plan – 1980-1985

VII- Five Year Plan – 1985-1990

War and Holiday break- 1990-1992

VIII- Five Year Plan – 1992-1997

IX - Five Year Plan- 1997-2002

X - Five Year Plan - 2002-2007

XI - Five Year Plan - 2007-2012

XII - Five Year Plan - 2012-2017.