

Important Cricket Tournament in India

Important Cricket Tournament in India

S. No	Tournament	Format	Details	Launch	Defending Champions
1	Ranji Trophy	TEST	It was named for Ranjitsinghji, who was the first Indian cricketer who played international cricket	1934	Vidarbha, Maharastra
2	Irani Trophy	Test	To mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy championship and was named after the late Z.R. Irani, who was associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)	1959	Vidarbha, Maharastra
3	Duleep Trophy	TEST	It was named in honour of Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar	1961	India Blue
4	Vijay Hazare Trophy	ODI	Named after the prolific Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare	2002	Karnataka
5	Deodhar Trophy	ODI	It is named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar (known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket)	1973	India B
6	Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy	T20	Named after Syed Mushtaq Ali, who holds the distinction of scoring the first Test century by any Indian overseas	2009	Delhi
7	Indian Premier League	T20	It is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during April and May of every year by teams representing Indian cities.	2008	Mumbai Indians



Important Cricket Tournament in India

8	Inter-State T20 Championship	T20	After India became another member of the ICC Twenty20 and played its first international T20 against South Africa, BCCI launched its own state structure in 2006-07 seasons, with 27 Ranji teams divided in 5 Zones.	2008	
9	Inter State Women's Twenty20 Competition	T20	There are 27 domestic team compete in the tournament.	2008	Delhi women's