PM Modi-Led Committee Meets to Decide For Next CBI Director’s Post!!!

PM Modi-led panel select 3 names for next CBI director's post!!
PM Modi-led panel select 3 names for next CBI director's post!!

PM Modi-led panel select 3 names for next CBI director’s post!!

A high-powered committee chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi met Monday to decide and select the next chief of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI).

The CBI director is selected by a committee comprising the prime minister, leader of the opposition in lok sabha and chief justice of India.

The committee includes Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Chief Justice of India N V Ramana other than PM Narendra Modi.

The meeting started at around 7 pm at PM Modi’s residence and lasted for over 90 minutes.

Serving Indian Police Service (IPS) officers of the senior-most batches -1984, 1985, 1986 and 1987 are being considered for the top post in the CBI.

At present, the CBI’s additional director, Praveen Sinha, a 1988-batch IPS officer, is holding the charge of the director.

Three names – HC Awasthi, KR Chandra, VSK Kaumudi have been discussed for the next CBI Director. While Chandra, a 1985-batch IPS officer of the Bihar cadre, is the director-general of the Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB), Kaumudi, a 1986-batch IPS officer of the Andhra Pradesh cadre, is the special secretary for internal security to the Union Home Ministry. Awasthy, a 1985-batch IPS officer of the Uttar Pradesh cadre, is the current state DGP and has served as the joint director and in other senior positions in the CBI.

Sinha was given the additional charge after the retirement of Rishi Kumar Shukla in February after a two-year tenure.

Sinha will hold the position of acting director till the time the high-powered committee appoints the next chief of the top investigating agency.

 Army Jobs “FB  Group” Join Now 

Online Test SeriesClick Here
To Join Whatsapp
Click Here
To Subscribe Youtube Click Here
To Join Telegram Channel
Click Here
Online ClassesClick Here