Nobel Prize in Economics

Nobel Prize in Economics
Nobel Prize in Economics

Nobel Prize is an international prize awarded annually for outstanding work in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, economics, and the promotion of peace. They were established by the 1895 will of Alfred Nobel, which dictates that the awards should be administered by the Nobel Foundation.

The Nobel Prizes, first awarded in 1901, are decided by members of Swedish learned societies or, in the case of the peace prize, the Norwegian Parliament.

Nobel Prize in Economics:

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel also known as The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, commonly referred to as the Nobel Prize in Economics, is an award for outstanding contributions to the field of economics and generally regarded as the most prestigious award for that field.

First Nobel Prize Winner in Economics:

The first prize in economics was awarded in 1969 to Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen “for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes”. In 2009, Elinor Ostrom became the first woman awarded the prize.

Nobel Prize 2019 Winner Details:


Winners Country




Abhijit Banerjee



for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty

Esther Duflo


Michael Kremer


Download PDF

For Online Test SeriesClick Here
To Subscribe Youtube Click Here
To Join Whatsapp Click Here
To Join Telegram ChannelClick Here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here