National Sports Awards 2018



National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistency outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar  is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

(i)         Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2018


S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
1. Ms. S. Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
2. Shri Virat Kohli Cricket


(ii)        Dronacharya Awards 2018


S. No. Name of the Coach Discipline
Subedar  Chenanda Achaiah  Kuttappa Boxing
2. Shri Vijay Sharma Weightlifting
3. Shri A. Srinivasa Rao Table Tennis
4. Shri Sukhdev  Singh  Pannu Athletics
5. Shri Clarence Lobo Hockey (Life Time)
6. Shri Tarak Sinha Cricket (Life Time)
7. Shri Jiwan Kumar Sharma Judo (Life Time)
8. Shri V.R. Beedu Athletics (Life Time)


(iii)       Arjuna Awards 2018


S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Shri Neeraj Chopra Athletics
2. Naib Subedar Jinson Johnson Athletics
3. Ms. Hima Das Athletics
4. Ms. Nelakurthi Sikki Reddy Badminton
5. Subedar Satish Kumar Boxing
6. Ms. Smriti Mandhana Cricket
7. Shri Shubhankar Sharma Golf
8. Shri Manpreet Singh Hockey
9. Ms. Savita Hockey
10. Col. Ravi Rathore Polo
11. Ms. Rahi Sarnobat Shooting
12. Shri Ankur Mittal Shooting
13. Ms. Shreyasi Singh Shooting
14. Ms. Manika Batra Table Tennis
15. Shri G. Sathiyan Table Tennis
16. Shri Rohan Bopanna Tennis
17. Shri Sumit Wrestling
18. Ms. Pooja Kadian Wushu
19. Shri Ankur Dhama Para-Athletics
20. Shri Manoj Sarkar Para-Badminton


(iv)      Dhyan Chand Award 2018


S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Shri Satyadev Prasad Archery
2. Shri Bharat Kumar Chetri Hockey
3. Ms. Bobby Aloysius Athletics
4. Shri Chougale Dadu Dattatray Wrestling


(vi) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018

S. No. Category Name of the entity
1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding & Young Talent Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited
2. Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility JSW Sports
3. Sports for Development Isha Outreach


(vii) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2017-18: 

  • Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar


The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 25th September, 2018.


For  WhatsAPP Group – Click Here

Telegram Channel  Click Here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!