List of Chief Ministers of Delhi


List of Chief Ministers of Delhi

Since 1952 Delhi has had seven chief ministers, starting with the Indian National Congress party’s Chaudhary Brahm Prakash. Shortly after his term ended, the office of Chief Minister of Delhi was abolished for 37 years until December 1993, when the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Madan Lal Khurana was sworn in. In 1998 Sheila Dikshit’s 15-year reign as chief minister began, the longest by an Indian woman. A 49-day stint in office by the Aam Aadmi Party’s Arvind Kejriwal and a year under President’s rule followed. In February 2015 the Aam Aadmi Party was voted in with a large majority, and Kejriwal has served as Delhi’s chief minister ever since.

S.NoChief MinistersPeriodParty
1Chaudhary Brahm Prakash1952-1955Indian National Congress
2Gurmukh Nihal Singh1955-1956Indian National Congress
Office abolished1956-1993
3Madan Lal Khurana1993-1996Bharatiya Janata Party
4Sahib Singh Verma1996-1998Bharatiya Janata Party
5Sushma Swaraj1998Bharatiya Janata Party
6Sheila Dikshit1998-2013Indian National Congress
7Arvind Kejriwal2013-2014Aam Aadmi Party
President's rule2014-2015
8Arvind Kejriwal2015- At PresentAam Aadmi Party

PDF Download


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!