Indian Presidents List – Download General Knowledge Study Materials Here!!!


Indian Presidents List

Click Here for All Subject Study Materials PDF Download
Banking Awareness PDF Download

Indian Presidents and their governance Period and some details about them are given in this topic. We hope this will give some useful information about Indian President.

List of all Presidents of India from 1947 to 2020:

The current President of India is Ram Nath Kovind. Article 52 of the Indian Constitution states that there should be a President of India. Let us have a look at the list of Presidents who have been elected so far with some important facts.

The President is the head of the Republic of India and is the first citizen of India. Article 53 of the Indian Constitution states that all the executive powers of the Union shall be exercised by him either directly or through officers subordinate to him.

In the Constitution Part V (The Union) under Chapter I (The Executive) details of qualifications, election and impeachment of the President of India is given. That is Articles from 52 to 78 in Part V of the Constitution deals with the Union Executive. The President of India is also the head of the executive, legislature and judiciary of the country.

The President holds office for a tenure of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office. However, he can resign from his office at any time by addressing the resignation letter to the Vice-President. Further, he can also be removed from the office before completion of his term by the process of impeachment. The President can hold office beyond his term of five years until his successor assumes charge. He is also eligible for re-election to that office.

1Mr.Rajendra Prasad (1st)
1952-1962He was nominated fifteen times for the Nobel prize in literature, and eleven times for the Nobel Peace prize.
2Mr.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (2nd)1962-1967His Birthday Sep 5th, was celebrated as Teacher's Day since 1962
3Mr. Zakir Hussain (3rd)1967-1969He was the 1st Muslim President of India.
4Mr. Varahagiri Venkata Giri1969He was served as acting president.
5Mr. Mohammad Hidayatulllah1969He was served as acting president.
6Mr. Varahagiri Venkata Giri (4th)1969-1974Giri was the first person to have served as both an acting president and president of India
7Mr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (5th)1974-1977He was a president during emergency “Internal Disturbance”.
8Mr. Basappa Danappa Jatti1977He was served as Acting President
9Mr. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy (6th)1977-1982He was unanimously elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on 26 March 1977.
10Mr. Zail Singh (7th)1982-1987He created a lifelong pension scheme for the freedom fighters of the state.
11Mr. Ramaswamy Venkataraman (8th)1987-1992Venkataraman was appointed a Member of the Union Planning Commission in 1967.
12Mr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (9th)1992-1997 In 1952, Sharma became the chief minister of the Bhopal state and was the youngest chief minister. He served in that position until the state reorganization of 1956. he was elected for a 5-year term as the eighth Vice-President of India and chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
13Mr. kocheril Raman Narayanan (10th)1997-2002Narayanan entered politics at the request of Indira Gandhi and won three successive general elections to the Lok Sabha in 1984, 1989 and 1991, as a representative of the Ottapalam constituency in Palakkad, Kerala, on a Congress ticket.
14Mr. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul kalam (11th)2002-2007He was called as the MISSILE MAN of India. He Launched his satelllte on Nov 21, 1963.
15Mrs. Pratibha Patil (12th)2007-2012She was the first women to became president of India. She was also first female Governor Of Rajasthan
16Mr. Pranab Mukherjee (13th)2012-2017Mukherjee was appointed Union Deputy Minister of Industrial Development in Indira Gandhi's cabinet in 1973. Mukherjee was active in the Indian cabinet during the controversial Internal Emergency of 1975–77.
17Mr. Ram Nath Kovind (14th)2017He was elected and became a Rajya Sabha MP from the state of Uttar Pradesh in April 1994. He served a total of twelve years, two consecutive terms, until March 2006. As a member of parliament, he served on the Parliamentary Committee for Welfare of Scheduled Castes/Tribes,

PDF Download

இந்திய குடியரசு தலைவர்கள் In Tamil 

List of Important Static Gk topics for competitive Exam

< < Read More Latest Railway Government Job Details 2020 > >

To Join Whatsapp
Click Here
To Subscribe Youtube Click Here
To Join Telegram Channel
Click Here
Online ClassesClick Here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here