Important International Cricket Tournaments


Important International Cricket Tournaments

Cricket Tournaments is the important topic in static GK for all competitive exams. This topic having important tournaments and their format, Launched year, defending champions and important details about the tournaments. The details having the reason for naming the tournament, year of next tournament and host country etc.

Click Here for All Subject Study Materials PDF Download
Banking Awareness PDF Download
S. NoTournamentFormatDetailsLaunchDefending Champions
1ICC World CupODIIt’s played once in every 4 years. It has 4 stages, Super 8, 6, semifinals and finals. Next Tournament - 2019 (England, wales), 2023 (India)1975Australia
2ICC Champions TrophyODIIt was inaugurated as the ICC Knock Out Tournament in 1998 and has been played approximately every four years since. Its name was changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002. Next Tournament - 2021 (India)1998Pakistan
3ICC T20 World cupT20The event has generally been held every two years. Next Tournament - 2020 (Australia)2007West Indies
4Ashes TrophyTESTIt was played between England and Australia. The term originated in a satirical obituary published in a British newspaper, The Sporting Times, immediately after Australia's 1882 victory at The Oval, their first Test win on English soil. The obituary stated that English cricket had died, and "the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia". The mythical ashes immediately became associated with the 1882–83 series played in Australia, before which the English captain Ivo Bligh had vowed to "regain those ashes". 1882Australia
5Border Gavaskar TrophyTestIt was played between India and Australia. The series is named after Australia's Allan Border and India's Sunil Gavaskar, who both scored over 10,000 Test runs in their career and captained their respective teams and were the original world record holders for most runs scored in Test match cricket.1990India
6Commonwealth Bank series (Australian Tri series)ODI (1979-2015) / T20 (From 2018)Earlier at the beginning stage it was known as Benson and Hedges World Series.  Later Carlton and United then VB series and now it is known as CB series. It is an official Australian series held during the months of Dec and Jan-Feb. The event has generally been held every two years. 1979
7Asia CupODI and T20 the Asian Cricket Council was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was originally scheduled to be held every two years.1984 , 2016India
8NatWest seriesODIThe original format of the NatWest Series was a three-team triangular tournament, involving England and two visiting international sides. Each of the three teams would play the other two three times each, after which the two top teams would face each other in a final at Lord's in London. The triangular format was abandoned in 20062000
9Indian Premier LeagueT20The Indian Premier League (IPL), officially Vivo Indian Premier League for sponsorship reasons, is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during April and May of every year by teams representing Indian cities. The IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world 2008Mumbai Indians
10Champions League Twenty20T20It was played between the top domestic teams from major cricketing nations. It was jointly owned by the BCCI, Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa. The 2014 Champions League Twenty20 was the last series of the tournament.2009

PDF Download
முக்கிய சர்வதேச கிரிக்கெட் போட்டிகள்

For Indian Cricket Tournament Click Here

Important Cricket Tournament In India

List of Important Static GK Topics for Competitive Exams

For  WhatsAPP Group – Click Here
Telegram Channel  Click Here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here