G20 Summits – Check Static GK Updates Here!!!

Flaggen des G20-Gipfels in Brisbane.

G20 Summits

Click Here for All Subject Study Materials PDF Download

Banking Awareness PDF Download

The G-20 is the G-7 plus developing nations such as Brazil, China, India, and Russia. The G-20’s members represent two-thirds of the world’s people and 85 percent of its economy. Since 2007, the media has covered each G-20 summit. The Group of Twenty is comprised of 19 countries plus the European Union.

The List of Member countries are:

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

What is the G20?

The Group of Twenty (G20) is a global forum comprised of twenty of the world’s largest economies, focused on addressing global economic challenges. IArgentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States—and the European Union.

Argentina currently holds the annually rotating  which is why it is hosting this year’s Leaders’ Summit. The current G20 president works in a “troika” with the previous and the following presidencies, which in this case are Germany and Japan, respectively. The presidency is responsible for hosting G20 meetings throughout the year. It can also invite non-member countries to attend meetings at its own discretion; this year, Argentina elected to  the Netherlands.

Countries that chair key regional groups are also invited to G20 summits, such as Rwanda, Singapore, Senegal, and Jamaica this year. Spain also holds a permanent invitation to all G20 meetings. Throughout the year, government ministers, foreign ministry officials, central bank governors, and world leaders hold meetings to address and discuss global economic issues in detail. All of these meetings and negotiations culminate at the end of the year in a Leaders’ Summit.

G20 Meetings & their Details

SummitsHost CountryHost CityDate & Year
1stUnited StatesWashington, D.C.14–15 November 2008
2ndUnited KingdomLondonApril 2, 2009
3rdUnited StatesPittsburgh24–25 September 2009
4thCanadaToronto26–27 June 2010
5thSouth KoreaSeoul11–12 November 2010
6thFranceCannes3–4 November 2011
7thMexicoSan José del Cabo, Los Cabos18–19 June 2012
8thRussiaSaint Petersburg5–6 September 2013
9thAustraliaBrisbane15–16 November 2014
10thTurkeySerik, Antalya15–16 November 2015
11thChinaHangzhou4–5 September 2016
12thGermanyHamburg7–8 July 2017
13thArgentinaBuenos Aires30 November – 1 December 2018
14thJapanOsakaTBD 2019
15thSaudi ArabiaRiyadhTBD 2020

G20 Summit & Conferences in Tamil

List of Important Static GK Topics for Competetive Exams

   << Read More Latest Current Affairs Details 2020 >>

To Follow Our InstagramClick Here
To Follow Our TwitterClick Here
To Join Whatsapp
Click Here
To Join Telegram Channel
Click Here
To Join Our FacebookClick Here