Freedom Fighters From Bihar

List of freedom fighters from Bihar

Famous Freedom Fighters from Bihar

Here we give you the list of persons associated with Indian Independence movement especially from Bihar. Bihar played a pivotal part in the Indian Freedom struggle. The state underwent Bifurcation and On 1 April 1912 both Bihar and Orissa division were separated from the Bengal Presidency as Bihar and Orissa Province. On 22 March 1936 Bihar and Orissa became separate provinces; followed by Jharkand statehood. Bihar is immensely proud of their leaders and revolutionaries who contributed a major part to the freedom struggle and a few of them are listed below

Bihar’s contribution in the independence movement has been immense with famous leaders like Swami Sahajanand Saraswati, Shaheed Baikuntha Shukla, Bihar Bibhuti Anugrah Narayan Sinha, Mulana Mazharul Haque, Loknayak Jayaprakash Narayan, Satyendra Narayan Sinha (Singh), Basawon Singh (Sinha), Yogendra Shukla, Sheel Bhadra Yajee, Pandit Yamuna Karjee, Dr. Maghfoor Ahmad Ajazi and many others who worked for India’s indepdence and worked to lift up the underprivileged masses. Khudiram Bose, Upendra Narayan Jha “Azad” and Prafulla Chaki were also active in revolutionary movement in Bihar.

List of freedom fighters from Bihar

Anugrah Narayan Sinha1887 - 1957One of the leading makers of modern Bihar, and for many years Bihar got his leadership.Champaran Satyagraha movement Civil Disobedience Movement
2Jayaprakash Narayan1902 -1979Jayaprakash Narayan's concept of Total Revolution' is one of his most important contributions to modem Indian political thought.Quit India Movement
3Kunwar Singh1877 - 1961The chief organiser of the fight against the British in Bihar. He is popularly known as Veer Kunwar Singh.
4Rajendra Prasad1884 - 1963Because of the enormous public adulation he enjoyed,he was referred to as Desh Ratna or the Jewel of the country. Salt Satyagraha of 1931 Quit India movement of 1942 Champaran Movement Non-cooperation Movement.

5Rambriksh Benipuri
1899 - 1968Benipuri was a close associate of Jayaprakash Narayan and a leading light of the Congress Socialist Party.Non Co-operation Movement
6Yamuna Karjee1898 - 1953Pandit Yamuna Karjee, a peasant leader, then took the initiative to organize a provincial Kisan Sabha Kisan Movement and Peasant movement Non - Co operation Movement

The Swatantra Senani Samman Yojna was launched by then prime minister Indira Gandhi in the early 1970s to honour the freedom fighters and provide them pension in recognition of the services rendered by them during the struggle for Independence.